Through a camera lens in France

I’ve been on holiday. I love going on holiday, but not because it’s relaxing. I really don’t think that holidays are or can be. I love going on holiday because I love having a break from home, from the usual routines and from my to do list.

One of the things I love to do most when I’m on holiday is take photos. I’ve been in Brittany (Bretagne to the locals) which is a beautiful part of the world. Very photogenic which was nice for me!

I’m going to share some of my photos with you:

DSCF3822

I liked the combination of the church and the chimneys in this picture. DSCF3784

As you can see, this viaduct is enormous. It overshadowed the whole town, but not in an unfriendly way. DSCF3792

Towns in Brittany are full of these old Tudor-like style houses. I guess that’s what more of England would look like if we hadn’t been bombed. DSCF3814 DSCF3818

I loved the pattern that these arches make. DSCF3853 DSCF3852

These stones make a burial cairn that has been dated between 4,500 and 3,900 BC. It blew my mind to be standing there in front of a 6000 year old structure. DSCF3886

The old and the new meet at a train station.DSCF3930 DSCF3932 DSCF3936 DSCF4087

Along with flowers, I think boats are my favourite photography subject. The evening that we were here in Paimpol was absolutely beautiful and the light was so perfect for photos. DSCF3980 DSCF3982 DSCF3988

Much of the north Brittany coast is made up of pink granite, which looks beautiful matched with the blue sea. DSCF3997

We went swimming here, and it felt so invigorating and intoxicatingly beautiful. DSCF4014

As I said, I love photographing flowers. I am told that this is a passion flower. DSCF4038

The flag of Bretagne.DSCF4051

More boats at Paimpol.DSCF4060

I love the reflections in the water.DSCF4063

Moules.DSCF4070 DSCF4078 DSCF4080 DSCF4082 DSCF4085

More boats to finish.

When I was taking a module on photography and pictures from South America for my degree, I came across a quote, and unfortunately I have no idea who said it. But it’s something that has stayed with me and that I think about with interest when I’m out with my camera:

“An painter chooses what to put in his creations. A photographer chooses what to leave out.”

Leave a Reply

